Posted by: captainfalcon | May 28, 2010

Jack on the John

From the memoirs:

At one point I remarked [to Rawls] on the renovations that had been carried out in Philosophy Hall since my time [at Harvard]. The staircase had been redone, and the second floor was now a hollow square, with faculty offices along the outer walls. Martha Nussbaum was then an Assistant Professor in the Department — the first woman in the history of the department, I believe. I noted that on my quick tour of the upstairs I had seen a men’s toilet and a women’s toilet for the students, and a faculty bathroom. What facilities, I wondered, did Martha use. The world’s greatest expert on distributive justice explained benignly that since her office was right across the hall from the women’s toilet, it was not a problem. I did not regret having failed to secure an Assistant Professorship all those years ago.

Leave a Reply

Categories

