Posted by: captainfalcon | December 28, 2009

A Case of Identity?

A question for those who’ve both seen and read Holmes: how accurately does the movie depict the (important parts of the) world (partially) described by the stories? I believe that question divides into these subquestions (I’d also be interested to know whether you think I’ve got the subquestions right):

1. How many claims about the characters / setting / plot that the book makes does the movie make / contradict?
2. How well does the movie convey the zeitgeist of Holmesian England?
3. How well does the movie capture the personalities of Doyle’s characters? (That is: would one be inclined to attribute to e.g. Ritchie-Holmes basically the same set of beliefs, desires and dispositions that one would be inclined to attribute to the Doyle-Holmes.)
4. Is the plot / chain of events one you’d expect to find in Doyle’s world?

Responses

  1. Sorry, Miles. I am afraid I fall into neither camp.

  2. […] running into my third straight sold-out theater when I tried for earlier evening tickets). As the prior post is a little old now, I figured I’d toss my read on it in a new […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

